Brigade fired up after championships

Headshot of Nicolette Barbas
Nicolette BarbasHarvey-Waroona Reporter
Harvey Volunteer Fire Bridage Championships
Camera IconHarvey Volunteer Fire Bridage Championships

Harvey ended a nine-year losing streak to win the A-grade section of the Volunteer Fire and Rescue State Championships in Fremantle on March 29.

“We’re all feeling pretty happy following the win,” coach Tim Edgerton said. “The boys did an outstanding job, it was well deserved.”

The team, consisting of 17 competitors, hit the ground running when the brigade first began training in September.

“Watching the season unfold and seeing the boys get to where they got was a great achievement,” Mr Edgerton said.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Harvey’s Rhys Landwehr also managed to secure a personal win, taking home the Champion A-grade Fireman title.

More achievements were honoured at the brigade’s presentation night on Saturday.

Landwher was awarded the Ron Newby Medal for the A-grade, recording just two votes more than teammate Ethan Harding, while Kyden Toop took home the B-grade Swampy and Marie Medal.

Jehu Rojo was awarded Rookie of the Year and Chris Ainsworth left the presentation with the Clubman Award in hand.

After a week of celebrations, Mr Edgerton said the brigade was now busy preparing for next year’s Victorian State Championships.

“Last year we ranked fifth out of 55, so we’re hoping to beat that next year,” Mr Edgerton said.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails