Election districts to change

Jacinta CantatoreHarvey-Waroona Reporter
Collie Preston MLA Mick Murray, Murray-Wellington MLA Robyn Clarke, Bunbury MLA Don Punch and Premier Mark McGowan.
Camera IconCollie Preston MLA Mick Murray, Murray-Wellington MLA Robyn Clarke, Bunbury MLA Don Punch and Premier Mark McGowan.

The Australian Electoral Commission has released the new electoral boundaries ahead of the next State election in March 2021.

The Western Australian Electoral Distribution Commission received 39 submissions about the boundary changes, which will alter 49 of the State’s 59 electoral districts.

Under the changes the electorate of Murray-Wellington will lose the locality of Roelands and parts of Australind to Collie-Preston.

To offset this, the electorate will gain the localities Clifton, Herron, Bouvard, Furnissdale and Barragup.

Murray-Wellington MLA Robyn Clarke said the change of boundaries would not change her commitment to the job.

“The electoral boundary changes do not change my commitment to my constituents, whether they’re in my current borders or within the future,” Mrs Clarke said.

“I was elected to do a job and that is to be a voice for the people of Murray-Wellington and I will continue to do that.”

Mrs Clarke said the lower edges of the electorate had changed several times over the years and had previously been well represented by Collie-Preston MLA Mick Murray, who would gain her two losses.

“It’s always a shame to lose communities in electoral boundaries changes,” Mrs Clarke said.

“I am confident the communities of Roelands and the parts of Australind will be in good hands.”

A resident of Preston Beach, Mrs Clarke, pictured, said she was well across the issues facing the newest additions to Murray-Wellington.

“The addition of Furnissdale and Barragup is significant for our electorate of Murray-Wellington as it incorporates the final two suburbs of the Murray shire into the electorate,” she said.

Mrs Clarke welcomed the addition of rural localities Clifton, Herron and Bouvard, which she believes have been forgotten in the past and are similar in make up to the present Murray-Wellington electorate.

“I can assure these people that they won’t be forgotten and continue to make sure they communities stay vibrant in the future,” Mrs Clarke said.

“Working closely with the Honourable David Templeman as a part of our joint Peel team and working closely with the Shire of Murray CEO Dean Unsworth and Shire President David Bolt, I have been well updated on the needs and wants of the western part of the Shire of Murray.”

Electoral commission chairman Eric Heenan QC said the proposed change is due to population growth across Western Australia, particularly in the northern and southern fringes of the metro area.

‘Enrolment levels in 11 of the 59 existing districts are now outside of the legislatively permitted limits’, Mr Heenan said.

‘To accommodate the necessary changes in the 11 districts, many adjoining districts have also had to be changed as a flow on effect.”

More information on the proposed boundaries can be found online at www.boundaries.wa.gov.au.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails