Maiden Women’s Big Bash League title for Bunbury’s Chloe Piparo as Perth Scorchers beat Adelaide Strikers

Headshot of Jackson Barrett
Jackson BarrettSouth Western Times
Chloe Piparo and Samantha Betts of the Scorchers.
Camera IconChloe Piparo and Samantha Betts of the Scorchers. Credit: Stefan Gosatti/Getty Images, Stefan Gosatti

Chloe Piparo is a WBBL champion with the Perth Scorchers for the first time ever.

The Scorchers broke their duck and defeated the Adelaide Strikers by 12 runs to win their maiden title at Optus Stadium on Saturday.

The Bunbury product arrived at the crease at number three, after the demise of opener Beth Mooney with the score at 1-52, and made a quick-fire 14 in partnership with captain Sophie Devine.

Her 10-ball innings came to an end when she was caught behind trying to caress a Darcie Brown delivery to third.

The home side finished with 5-146, with Devine top-scoring with 35 and South African all-rounder Marizanne Kapp left unbeaten on 31.

A tight period of bowling in the opening stages of the second innings set up the maiden title.

A stingy power play and two quick breakthroughs once restrictions were lifted, had the Strikers chasing tail right from the start and even a late surge wasn’t enough for the visitors to meet their target.

Camera IconCredit: Stefan Gosatti/Getty Images, Stefan Gosatti

Piparo took a crucial catch during the chase, ending Tahlia McGrath’s innings on 36 with a sharp chance running backwards at backward point.

The 27-year-old finished the campaign as the Scorchers’ third highest run-scorer, behind Devine and Mooney, with 216 runs at 30.85.

She steered the side straight into the final with a maiden half-century in the last home-and-away game against the Sydney Sixers to ensure they finished the tournament on top.

It is the second WBBL final Piparo has played in, having batted all the way down at seven in the tournament’s first decider, before missing out altogether when the Scorchers lost to the Sixers the following year.

For Piparo, attention now turns to the Women’s National Cricket League season where she will lead WA.

WA open their season at the WACA Ground on December 16 against South Australia.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails