T20 World Cup: India blockbuster to test Australia’s credentials as Super 8 rivals revealed

Headshot of Aaron Kirby
Aaron KirbyThe West Australian
Australia will play Bangladesh, Afghanistan and India in the Super 8s.
Camera IconAustralia will play Bangladesh, Afghanistan and India in the Super 8s. Credit: Supplied

Australia’s path to a historic title unification has been laid bare, with an ODI World Cup final rematch against powerhouse India looming as a pivotal credential examination.

After cruising through the initial group stage unbeaten, with a healthy net run rate of +2.791, the reigning One-Day and Test champions were the first nation to be placed for the Super 8s stage, drawing Group 1.

And with Bangladesh crushing the long-shot hopes of cricketing minnows Nepal with a nervy victory on Monday, Australia’s rivals for the cup are set.

While there are never any easy games at a World Cup, Australia will be confident of advancing through their group.

With Afghanistan’s seed falling into Group 1, Australia will avoid hosts West Indies, who will instead face South Africa, England - who scraped through on net run rate after Scotland lost their final group match - and fellow hosts USA.

It leaves Australia to face Bangladesh on Friday morning (8.30am AWST) and Afghanistan Sunday morning (8.30am AWST) before the main event the next day against India at 10.30pm AWST.

If Australia win their first two matches, it would all but assure their progression to the finals, with the clash against India potentially determining if they top the group.

The top two teams from each group will then qualify for the semifinals set to be hosted in Tarouba and Guyana on June 27 before the final on June 29 in Barbados.

The group stage was plagued by inconsistent pitches and rain, especially in Florida, where only one of the four scheduled matches was played, helping claim several high-quality victims, including Pakistan and Sri Lanka, who were both left in shock after failing to escape their respective groups.

However, the USA’s progress to the next stage will be seen as a massive victory for the ICC in its plans to tap into the financially-rich American sporting market.


Bangladesh - 8.30am AWST June 21, Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua

Afghanistan - 8.30am AWST June 23, Arnos Vale Ground, Arnos Vale, St Vincent

India - 10.30pm AWST June 24, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia



  • India
  • Australia
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh


  • USA

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails